top of page

Keeping Up with the Davises

Well, autumn is in full swing here in upstate New York; the leaves are turning and falling, the evenings are cool, there's a crisp breeze blowing about, and I'm in a candle-burning, chai tea sort of a mood. Did I mention blankets too? They're definitely an important part of this season! School is also in full swing; I won't talk much about it today because I'm not in much of a dental hygiene mood, but I love treating patients in clinic and I wish I spent all my time there and not so much time in classes. The end!

What's new in the life of the Davises? My AMAZING husband has spent the past few weekends working on kitchen projects for me to help me get more organized. The kitchen cupboards I had were big, open spaces with no shelves, so he installed shelves for me and they're fancy shelves because they pull out and I LOVE them!!! And then he did that again with my storage space under the sink so now I can store pots and pans, pyrex, and all sorts of things in an orderly fashion there too! Love him. And that's not all... then he figured out a way for me to be able to hang my pans up on the wall so they don't take up valuable cupboard space. I love that he understands how organized I like to be!

We are still getting the boxes from Hello Fresh & Blue Apron each week, which makes my life so much easier! The meals are delicious and unique, recipes I would never think to try making normally. We actually have a bunch of free meals to give away, so let me know if you're interested in trying one out!

Last week was rough, it seemed like whenever I had a good day it was followed up by a really hard day! So, after coming home from a bad day, I told Jake that I wanted to walk around Downtown Troy. It was a cool evening, perfect for a walk, and we stopped at the Dutch Udder ice cream shop that opened this summer and WOW is that ice cream good!

Such unique flavors :) That and walking around the streets with lights strung through the trees cheered me up so much. I've been struggling a lot lately with feeling like certain people in my life don't like me because of what others say about me, be it at work or at school, and that really brings me down because I take things so personally. That being said, I love coming home to my husband who is willing to go take an evening walk around Peeble's Island or Downtown, just to cheer me up. Getting outside really helps me! Another thing that cheered me up lots is the package that arrived from my grandmother with Fiesta ware in it!!!

I love my Fiesta ware, it brings me joy, and expanding my collection just makes me so happy! Being surrounded by color actually boosts my mood, haha.

Something nice that happened lately is that Jake's work office moved from Latham to Troy, so he can walk to work now and I love knowing he's close by. :) The Troy office is really pretty and has giant windows, so that's a big perk too!

I find that when I'm struggling to balance a crazy life or when I just feel like I'm so busy I can't even take time to do something I enjoy, the best thing for me to do is to just stop in the midst of all the chaos. So I have homework that needs to be done and paperwork to go through for clinic and dishes/laundry to be washed, blah blah blah- just set it all aside and take a walk, color something, do some yoga, relax for a second. Another thing that's been helping me a whole lot is to make weekend plans; when we have no weekend plans, the weeks fly by with nothing special to really differentiate them. But last weekend we had another couple over for lunch after church and just having people in my home makes me feel so happy! This weekend, one of our best friends came over and we made mulled cider, heated up cider donuts, ate Italian Tortellini Spinach soup, and got outside for a bit! It's so nice to do things on the weekend to just make it stand apart from any other given weekend!

What else have I been loving lately... I went to a Pure Haven party recently and discovered this fabulous Dream Cream that I'm totally falling in love with! Pure Haven is a toxin-free company, so all of their products are super safe for your body and just overall really healthy choices! The

Dream Cream I purchased has shea butter, aloe vera, lavender essential oil, marigold and chamomile extracts in it and it is so moisturizing, not to mention how soothing the lavender scent is!!! With being in school, I find my body reacts to stress in different ways than it otherwise would. My stomach always feels a little off, I get a lot more breaks outs on my face, and my dreams at night are frantic or alarming. Experiencing my body act out in abnormal ways because of stress kind of freaks me out, so when I can, I try to make the healthiest choices possible in order to best take care of my already-stressed body. Pure Haven is such an awesome company, and I love how safe I feel about using their toxin-free products.

This is a beautiful time of year, but it's also a hard time of year for anyone who struggles with saying goodbye to summer (mid January I'll be missing the sunshine & its warmth BIG time), so I can't stress enough how important it is to make the choice to try to be happy each day, to try to find beauty in everything, to take a time out and just let yourself feel the emotions you need to work through... Be kind to others and be patient with yourself, invest time in your relationships, and take care of yourself. Make a meal you're craving, go on a walk and leave your phone behind, listen to your favorite music, journal, cry if you need to, do what you need to do to become a better you. Everyone struggles with something, we're all human, we all have stuff we're working on and dealing with. I don't know why I'm writing all of this, I hope I don't sound new-age-ish or all "love-yourself" like, but I guess I just feel like it's necessary to acknowledge that everybody is working through something and we should all be there for each other. I'm pretty tired of seeing all those "you are stronger than you know" quotes, because I feel like I value being open about my struggles and feelings a lot more than I value being able to handle a situation all on my own by being "strong". That sounds lonely and I'd rather live life with companions around me...

This has been a very rambly post, it's been a few weeks and I feel like I've been compiling a list of random things I've been wanting to share! With that being said, I had better sign off and start making dinner. Tonight we're cooking roasted pork & salsa verde, courtesy of Blue Apron! Don't forget, I have multiple free meals to give away, so if anyone is interested, please comment and let me know!

bottom of page